Driving A to Z Challenge

I live in rural Maine. My small town has about 53 people living here.  It is peaceful and quiet.

However whenever you want or need something you have to drive to get it.  In this part of Maine when we talk about going somewhere we never say, “It’s so many miles.” Instead we say, “It takes so many hours to get there.”

Today my sister needed to be in Bangor for an xray.  Bangor is 2 hours from her house.  Her house is 20 minutes from mine in the other direction.  So today I traveled almost three hours to get where we needed to go.

We have lived here almost 25 years and understand the time frame of travelling in this neck of the woods.   It is part of a day’s planning.

Because of driving distances I have learned to make “take out” items from scratch!  I make a mean pizza. I need to get better at Chinese! No matter we love it here.

So you see I live where distance is measured in time rather than miles!

 

6 thoughts on “Driving A to Z Challenge

  1. That’s what they say about L.A., but there is always the qualifier of “depending on traffic”. Of course we don’t have to go far for take out. I could easily walk to at least 20 different restaurants of all kinds.

    Contrary to my usual practice of subscribing to comments, to save time during the challenge I will not be doing so at the moment. If you want to respond to my comment , please email me directly from your email notification for the comment.
    Thanks. And I truly appreciate your efforts.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out
    Twitter hashtag: #atozchallenge

  2. Maine’s scenery and wildlife captured my heart a long time ago. My aunt owns a cabin on Rangeley Lake. Beautiful, peaceful and enough star gazing to keep me entertained for hours. Too much light pollution here outside of Philly. Good luck with the challenge!

Leave a Reply

