Yikes a to z challenge

I had an online conversation with someone I didn’t know and her reaction to what I said stunned me.  She asked about my business and my secret to success. I really don’t have any secrets. I told her I blog and I love what I do. I guess she thought I was telling her she didn’t love what she did. Anyhow she got angry it seemed and responded unkindly.  I tried to apologize put she just went away. It got me thinking that sometimes the computer relationships aren’t always what they seem. Body language, tone, facial nuances all help the listener to get the message as it was meant to be sent. Even then it sometimes is garbled.

All I can say is, “Yikes.”

2 thoughts on “Yikes a to z challenge

  1. I’ve had this happen more than once. What can you do but just let it go? I think some people are just predisposed to take things negatively, And the indirect means of conversation of being online doesn’t allow for much in the way of consoling people who are upset in that way. There’s probably a good chance that it might not be much different if you were communicating face to face.
    Take care!

    Hope you’ll join us for The A to Z Challenge Reflections Post on Monday May 2nd.

    Lee

  2. It’ happens! If you aren’t careful, what you say as a joke can be taken as an insult. I try, very carefully, to double-check what I write to someone I don’t know personally … but there have been times when I’ve lost a “friend” because of what I’ve said and how she’s interpreted it. But then, if she were a true friend, I wouldn’t have lost her! So I think you are probably better off without this person and glad she left rather than filling your mailbox with vitriolic comments.

Leave a Reply

