Long Journey

I left yesterday at about 10:30 AM and headed south and return today about 12:30PM having driven 550 mile. Whew!  It has been a very long time since I made that kind of a trip.  I needed to see what was going on with my MIL. She was back in the hospital again. This is the 4th time in about 6 weeks. She is 91 and wants to live on her own and keeps falling down.  We live too far to help her and when we offered to move her mobile home here 10 years ago she flatly refused. However the hospital has been helpful and they are trying to persuade her to go into assisted living where she will have 24 hour monitoring and not have to rely on neighbors to meet her needs.  I was there into the evening and then went to her home and crashed. At 6AM I was on the road heading down about an hour to pick up a pregnant goat due Sept 10th.  I ended up bringing home two very sweet Nigerians and am thrilled.  They rode home very well and seemed to settle into their new”digs” quite nicely. The others looked at them with curiosity!

One thought on “Long Journey

  1. Good luck with your mother-in-law. My folks are 91, too. I know my mom would move to an assisted living but my dad won’t. He’s “not old enough for an old folks’ home.” I hope they can convince her to move into one – it will be a god-send for all of you. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

