Eating Cereal on a Snowy Evening

I felt so lousy this morning I stayed right in the recliner until my good friend and neighbor showed up. She was earlier than usual and when she discovered I had not had breakfast proceeded to make it for me. When she realized my sister had tried to encourage me to see my Dr. because of the severe pain I’d been experiencing the last couple of days she made me call and get an appointment! I had fallen down about a week ago and hit my rib cage pretty hard on the corner of the metal milk stand. I didn’t have any bruising so I attributed the pain to my other issues ( fairly constant chest pain from auto immune disease). She also offered to drive me in commenting that we would probably have to go to the hospital for an x-ray.

She was right. My PA checked me over and called in some pain patches and sent me off to Calais. The folks in X-ray were great. The Doctor there read the X-ray immediately and said I didn’t have any lung issues from the painful ribs. He wondered why they weren’t X-raying the ribs that hurt and had the technician call my doctor so she could put in the order. Then they took three more. He waited to read them and told me that I had a cracked rib that would probably get worse before it got better. Yikes. He thought it would take 6 to 8 weeks of rest along with pain medicine to have it feel better.

Then off to Walmart for the ‘script.  They were slow there and my friend was having hard time with their lackadaisical behavior. The usual team was not there (they are, over the top terrific). My friend could see that I was fast going downhill fatigue wise and had me sit in the car while I suspect she glared at them until she got the ‘script in hand.

It started to snow as we headed home.

DH was sound asleep in the recliner when we got here and quickly went to the bedroom to continue his nap. I rested most of the afternoon.

I was able to manage the night chores and let my exhausted hubby sleep.

It continued to snow and by suppertime cereal became the meal of choice. Neither of us had any energy to muster up anything else.

This is a most interesting time in our lives. I’m glad God is in charge and not me!IMG_3914

2 thoughts on “Eating Cereal on a Snowy Evening

  1. Can I simply just say what a comfort to discover an individual who actually understands what they’re discussing online. You actually know how to bring an issue to light and make it important. More and more people should look at this and understand this side of your story. It’s surprising you’re not more popular because you definitely possess the gift.

Leave a Reply

