It’s Been Quite a Week

I sit here in the cool of the morning watching my husband in pain from a kidney stone unmoved even after surgery. He is readying himself for work, despite the pain, keeping going, making sure my needs are met.  I, struggling with a summer cold that has sunk into my chest making breathing hard, am wanting to feel better and be helpful and be a good wife and can only sit and breathe…and rest.  The chest wall is hurting, the muscles are hurting, the body has turned against itself with this insipid autoimmune disease.  The heat of the last few days has been oppressive and the humidity has only added to it.

But this morning it is cool and it is quiet. I see the hummers in flight. I hear the birdsong and feel the breeze. I see the expanse of green hay fields and the ribbon of trees above it. I can only voice thanksgiving that my Father knows our needs and walks beside us. He has us in the palm of His hand and promises to never leave or forsake us.IMG_4693

2 thoughts on “It’s Been Quite a Week

  1. Well, you’ve been busy while I’ve been away! I finally took time to read blogs today; I am glad that you have that lovely canoe! It looks like a lot of fun! We had a trolling motor for a small boat we had and gave it to Joy for their canoe (bigger than yours, because there are 4 who use it) and they like using it. I like it being electric and QUIET …… rest and get better!

Leave a Reply

